Westport Cultural Council (WCC)


 Helen E. Ellis Trust grant application deadline has closed.  Thank you for all the applications received. Grant decisions will be completed in April.

Supporting Artists,
Non Profit Organizations
and Education
through grants that
help make
Westport a vital and lively community for all.




Westport Cultural Council Awards grants for 2018

Senator Michael Rodrigues and Representative Paul Schmid along with Carolyn Duby, chair of the Westport Cultural Council, announce that 16 grants totaling $4385 for cultural programs have been awarded and

will benefit the people of Westport this coming year





Westport River Watershed Alliance

Winter Art Show - Oars & Paddles



Kristin Tucker

Zeiterion Theater Cultural Performance



New Bedford Art Museum/ArtWorks!

Teen Artist Internship Program



The Arc of Greater Fall River

The Kids on the Block Junior Puppeteer Program



Westport Historical Society

Family Activities at the Handy House



Ruth Harcovitz




New Bedford Whaling Museum

Museum Access for SouthCoast Youth



New Bedford Festival Theatre, Inc.

2018 Production of West Side Story & Summer Academy



Westport Free Public Library

Libraries Rock!



New Bedford Symphony Orchestra

Learning in Concert: The Orchestra as Ecosystem



Zeiterion Theatre, Inc.

New Bedford Folk Festival



The Art Drive - 11th Annual Open Studio Tour

The Art Drive - 11th Annual Open Studio Tour



Massachusetts Audubon Allens Pond Wildlife Sanctuary

Native Plant Events with Mass Audubon



Paskamansett Bird Club

Marla Isaac Raptor Show



Susan Viveiros

Children's Authors



Korey Pimental

Shakespeare in Buttonwood



  Congratulations to all

and thank you for your contributions

to the cultural and educational life of our town.






2018 marks the 25th Anniversary of the


and the contributions of Miss Ellis

Information about Helen E. Ellis - Click Here

CLICK on the "ANNOUNCEMENTS" button to the left for other latest news!

Recent Grantee reception April 2017 can be found on Vimeo at this LINK


Join Us! Help Shape the Arts, Sciences, and Culture in Our Community!


Become a member of the Westport Cultural Council

The WCC Welcomes Your Questions!

Members of the Westport Cultural Council welcome the opportunity to share “behind the scenes information” about the grant awards and very specials programs funded by the WCC.  If your group or organization would like a presentation or more information to distribute, 

Click here to contact the Cultural Council webmaster by email.


Council Members

Name Title
Carolyn Duby Chair, Treasurer
Irene Buck Member
Rud Lawrence Member
Helene Korolenko Member
Robin Smith Member
Lisa Arnold Member
Meg Christ Member